CeBit – out-of-date?

March 6, 2008 at 3:07 pm 1 comment

It was a strange feeling when I walked through the halls of the CeBit this year in Hanover.

There were empty halls, mostly empty stands, and while looking for particular exhibitors, which I couldn’t find by the way, it seemed that people weren’t really happy. The most troublesome thing I noticed was – no real innovation! Lastly, more and more big brands don’t attend.

cebit logo

During my studies I worked at the CeBit for the first time in 1989. Since then I have participated in some of the worldwide largest IT trade show, now 16 years on. I haven’t missed a single day. It was important to see what new innovation the IT industry is now offering. CeBit use to be the place to meet partners, customers, potential employees and to just generally network with people in the industry, to share ideas and to compare stories.

I am honestly asking myself, “Does the CeBit really still make sense”? Is it worth it for a vendor to spend time and money planning, traveling, expecting to proudly display their products and services as well as to attract customers and the press, but to end up with mostly empty stands and empty halls?

The internet has changed the way companies research, sell and market their products and services.

…make up your mind yourself!

If I am honest I come to the conclusion that CeBit is getting out-of-date.

Entry filed under: Technology.

The Story of Stuff Roulette gambling or Chess strategy?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sandrar  |  September 10, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who is posting?

This blog is a view from an VC investor, entrepreneur as well as from a private person. You'll find posts about Startups, Technology, Venture Capital, Entrepreneurship and about life and fun. If you enjoy and if you don't please send me your critical comments.

OJ on Twitter

Archives


